Over Easy Made Easy

I can cook and bake up a storm. Mousse? Meringue? Muffins? I got it handled.

The one thing I cannot manage to do, to save my life, is flip over an egg in a frying pan.

Normally I try so hard to get it flipped so that the white actually cooks that I end up breaking it. It ends up looking less like a fried egg and more like a Salvador Dali painting.

Well, good news for people like me!

If you rub some olive oil in a muffin tin, crack an egg into it, and bake it at 350° for 12-15 minutes, you get a beautiful, non-accidentally-scrambled over-easy or over-medium egg! Or a “hard-boiled” egg if you give it another minute or two.

Chicks in a Tin

IMG_7740

Step One

Crack some eggs into an oiled muffin tin and add any spices or flavorings you choose! My favorite was the one with just an olive, honestly.

IMG_6137

Step Two

Bake them for anywhere from 10-15 minutes. The longer you bake, the harder the yolk gets, but be careful to make sure the whole white looks baked before removing them.
IMG_4386Step Three

Enjoy! Or save them and enjoy them later! They should keep for about day.

I’ll definitely be doing this a lot in the future to make breakfast when I have a little bit of extra time to bake these lovelies. If you don’t want to eat them plain, you can always use this as a very decorative way to serve an egg with a meal, or for a neat way to make a breakfast sandwich (if you have a cheat day and some English Muffins!).

-Dee

Source: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

